Welcome to

YMCA of Three Rivers


Visit WebsiteVisit WebsiteVisit Website



Waterloo Region




Your YMCA believes in creating safe and welcoming spaces for all. We believe there is no place for racism and intolerance, and we're committed to listening, learning and making the changes needed to make this a reality.

For many, the Y means community. It is a safe place to learn, grow, and explore – together. Because of our variety of programming and services, there’s literally something for everyone – birth to 99 years – at the Y. 

2020 was a year marked by obstacles and it was also a time of exploring opportunities. Of what it means to be a community – to show up and support one another, even when we need to stay physically apart. 

You’ve continued to stand with us as we’ve worked to show up for our communities. As an organization, the Y has been on the front lines in communities, delivering emergency child care, serving vulnerable sectors, and showing up to support one another even at a distance. 

What this shows us is that our communities need more of the Y. And, through the YMCA of Three Rivers, we’ll be able to do just that. 

Our roots are deep in our communities, and we’re looking forward with ambition, innovation, and a spirit of wanting to do more good for more people. 

Welcome to the YMCA of Three Rivers.  

Peter Sweeney

We're Here for Good


Join us on the Journey

The YMCA of Three Rivers marks the official unification of the YMCAs of Cambridge and Kitchener-Waterloo, the YMCA-YWCA of Guelph, and the YMCA of Stratford-Perth as one regional entity. Through this process, we're bringing together our strengths and expertise to better serve our communities, where and how they need us most.  

For more than 150 years, we've demonstrated our commitment to our communities by showing up and delivering the programs, outreach, and services to our people need. This is the good stuff that we’re all about. And, in unifying, equipped with a re-commitment and a bold, new shared vision and purpose.

Our goal? To keep showing up for our communities - where, when, and how they need us most. 

What does this mean for you? On the local level you won’t see an immediate change. When you visit one of our fitness centres, drop your child off at child care, or attend a camp or other outreach, you’ll be greeted by familiar faces. It’s just that your community is growing, and that you get to be a part of shaping what it will look like in the future.

The 2020-2021 Board of Directors for the YMCA of Three Rivers:

  • Anne Eaton, Vice Chair
  • Jackie Hatherly-Martin, Director, Chair of Governance & Nominating Committee
  • Harold Whiteside, CPA, CMA, Chair
  • Karl Nieva, Director
  • Kelly Schultz, Director
  • Margaret Mutumba, Director
  • Milena Protich, Director
  • Nancy Theberge, Director
  • Peter Sweeney, CEO/Secretary
  • Rosemary Fernandes-Walker, Director
  • Seann McAleese, Director
  • Stephen Thomas Cooper, Treasurer - Chair of Audit, Finance and Risk Committee
  • Tamara Zur, Director
  • Thien Nguyen, Director


We believe that when you feel well, you do well. And so, our goal is to provide a range of programs, services, and outreach geared to help our members, staff, volunteers, families, and communities feel better, physically and emotionally, each and every day. We’re committed to doing this in community, because we believe we truly are stronger together.  

We are SAFE

Everyone has a need to feel welcome and know that they have a place in our communities. We're committed to building safer spaces for everyone to learn, grow, and explore. We’ve recommitted our efforts and actions around equality, diversity and inclusion, and it’s our hope that everyone will find acceptance and belonging at all of our locations. We want everyone to know that whatever they may need, we’re here for good.


Not only do we believe in the transformative power of community - it’s actually what we do. All of our facilities, programming and outreach are built with a people-first, community-minded lens. As a charity, we've built strong relationships with organizations and community partners to help us help those we serve. Our diverse programming and services are designed to meet individuals where they are at, and help them navigate whatever issues they are facing. And, if we don't have the programs or services you're after, we're certain to know who in our community does.  

Discover our Mission, Vision and ValuesView our 2020 Annual Report

Join the Y today and get your first payment freeLearn more